Complaint

Complaint number
NTB-000-937  
NTB Type
8.1. Government Policy and regulations  
Complaint
Lamcast Refractories is a Manufacturing Company located in Redcliff, Zimbabwe. On the 26th of January 2020 we had an export to Zambia, transported via Chirundu border post. Upon arrival at the border our driver was advised through our clearing agent that the consignment needed a cross border permit.
Prior to the trip we had been advised by the VID in Zimbabwe and the Ministry of Transport that the vehicle that we are using is too small (5ton truck), and does not require a cross border permit because of its size and we were further advised that since the truck has yellow number plates it does not require a cross border permit. We were also advised that a cross border permit is issued to 15ton trucks and above of which our truck is a 5ton truck
Our driver has been at border since Sunday the 26th of January 2020 and up today 28/01/20 he has not been cleared on the Zambian side.
The driver had a hard time on both sides of the border because of the issue of the required cross border permit. What we were advised on the ground is different from what was encountered at the border.
May you kindly assist us on the way forward.
We have been exporting to Botswana via Plumtree border post since 2016, and we have never been asked to produce a cross border permit. The exports are being done using the same truck that we are using in Zambia.  
Status note
Zimbabwe Focal Point reported that, the exporter took advice from Zambia Focal Point to seek assistance of Zambian Authorities at Chirundu border post who assisted him. The matter was therefore resolved.  
Progress update note
1. On 29 January 2020, Zambia Focal Point reported that they have submitted query and are waiting for a response from the Road Transport and Safety Agency and will provide feedback by the end of day.
2.On 29 January 2020, Zambia Focal Point advised that the exporter should contact the RTSA Manager at the border who will be able to advise on the way forward.  
Policy or regulatory NTB
No 
Location
Zambia: Chirundu (Border post)  
Reporting Country or Region
Zimbabwe  
Date of incident
2020-01-26  
Status
Resolved  
Date of resolution
2020-01-30  
Product Description
Iron and Steel products.  
Total value
1 718.00  
Date reported
2020-01-29 08:43  
Modified
2020-02-06 16:29